Judith Price, 1944 – 2012

The History Department mourns the loss of our long-time instructor and generous benefactor Judith Price. Born in Hawaii, Ms. Price held a long-time interest in the history of East Asia, China and Japan in particular. She received her MA at UCCS in the late 1980s, and began teaching in the department in 1990. For the last twenty-two years, she nearly singlehandedly taught and ran the departmental curriculum in Chinese and Japanese history, and received awards from the College of LAS and the university for outstanding teaching.

Most recently, Judith Price endowed the first-ever faculty chair in the College of LAS: the Donahue Chair of East Asian History. In 2011-2012, after an extensive national search, Dr. Yang Wei, a native of Nanjing, China, who received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 2012, was hired to fill that chair. Through the Donahue Chair, the incredible passion and generosity of spirit and resources represented by Judith Price will live through the future history of UCCS.

We will post reminiscences and other tributes to Judith Price soon. May she rest in peace.

This entry was posted in department events, East Asian History, faculty teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Judith Price, 1944 – 2012

  1. B. Headle says:

    I feel a great sadness for the students who will never have the privilege of taking a class with Professor Price. Over the past 10 years, I have aspired to be as dedicated, devoted, diligent, demanding, and as passionate as my friend and colleague; I realize now that she was always the teacher, the model, while I was always the student…I miss you, dear friend, and I will do my best to follow in your footsteps.

  2. Yang Wei says:

    I cannot say I have gotten much chance to get acquainted with Judy over my first three months of teaching at UCCS, during which her health was rapidly declining, but through our conversations at my campus interview back in Feb, I was deeply impressed with her infectious passion for teaching and her profound love for the program. I feel so privileged to take this permanent position in East Asia that she cared so much about. It should be noted that she never mentioned, in any occasion, that she was the donor for the Donahue Endowed Chair in East Asia. She firmly insisted on the anonymity of the donation. Such a great spirit of generosity and unconditional affection for teaching will be a constant reminder of the very meaning of the profession we all engage in. Judy will be well remembered. The tradition of East Asian studies at UCCS she inaugurated will continue and it will thrive.

  3. Larry Reedy says:

    Ms. Price taught me how to write. It was a painful lesson, to be sure, but it was one that enabled me to effectively communicate. There is a certain kind of joy that one can only feel after accomplishing something that they had never done before, and I experienced that when I received my first pig stamp on a paper. Thank you, Ms. Price. You will be missed and remembered.

    • B. Headle says:

      Thank you Larry for your comment. I was reminded today that while there are so many students who will not have the opportunity to even think about earning a pig stamp on their papers, there are those students, oh so many students, whose lives were changed simply because they took a class or two or three with Professor Price. Treasure that pig stamp–you earned it from one of the very best historians and one of the very best educators any university has to offer. Ms. Price was, I know, quite proud of you.

  4. Shelley Kirkpatrick-Haddock says:

    I am heartbroken at the passing of Professor Price. I discovered, not only my love of history while in her 114 History of Japan class, I, like many others, learned how to write. Without her constructive criticism and pointed, comprehensive analysis, I do not believe I would have ever truly understood the art of literary composition and especially writing for history. Without Prof. Price’s guidance, her advocacy, and her limitless support, I would not be a serious scholar and I would not be planning a future as an instructor of history. Her intellect, her wit, and her humor are an inconsolable loss. I will forever remember Judy with infinite love and gratitude and I will grieve her absence keenly; but, I will also smile and most probably laugh out loud when I remember her lecture on Kublai Khan and his formation of the “Office for the Chastisement of Japan,” after two failed invasion attempts and his lack of success at exacting any sort of tribute from Japan, ever.

    Aloha nui loa, a hui hou,
    Shelley

    • B. Headle says:

      Shelley: I know that Professor Price was always oh so proud of you (and not just because you were a great sherpa!); follow in her footsteps, if anyone can do that it is you. Jan and I are still here to support you (lest Madam bonks us with her foot cane!). Seriously, treasure the wonderful times you shared with Professor Price and know that she is probably looking down on you and smiling and urging you onward.

Leave a Reply

